Toney-Rahman II ruling changed to 'no decision'
In a controversial battle July 16,
But that was then.
After Rahman appealed the decision, the California State Athletic Association changed the ruling to a "No Decision" on July 28.
During the fight, which aired on Fox's
His vision hampered, Rahamn complained to referee
Between rounds, ringside physician
Initially, the fight was ruled a "no contest" per CSAC rules, which requires such a call when an accidental injury occurs to boxer by a head butt prior to the end of fourth round. Also according to the California rulebook, if the bout had lasted beyond four rounds, the victor would have been decided by the judges.
Though the decision seemed cut and dry at the time -- accidental head butt before the end of the fourth leads to to "no contest," -- the confused look on the faces of fans, as well as the fighters and trainers ringside said it all. The match was ruled a technical-knockout win in favor of Toney (70-6-3, 43 KOs, 1 NC) .
For Rahman, the head butt from Toney was not his first in a major fight. Against
Such safety issues in the ring have been brought up time and time again, most recently by Dr.
A day after the Toney-Rahman incident, welterweight
After the July 16 fight, Rahman said he would be up for a third fight against Toney, but under one condition: the match won't be held in California -- sure sign that rules may need to be changed for safety reasons.