College Football

Florida State, Jameis Winston picked to win ACC hardware

Florida State, Jameis Winston picked to win ACC hardware Photo:

A panel of Atlantic Coast Conference media members picked Florida State to win the conference's championship and Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston as the preseason player of the year.

Clemson and Virginia Tech received two championship votes apiece.

Tigers defensive end Vic Beasley received six preseason player of the year votes, while Miami running back Duke Johnson, Duke wide receiver Jamison Crowder and Virginia Tech quarterback Brenden Motley each earned one.

Four voters made no selection.

MORE: Jameis Winston embraces spotlight at ACC media day

The Seminoles, who were also projected to win the conference in the  2011 and 2012 preseasons, won the national championship in January and return 15 starters.

Winston, who won the Heisman Trophy last season, was named the conference's player of the year in 2013.

Here are the full standings, with first place votes in parenthesis:

Atlantic Division
1. Florida State (109) - 780
2. Clemson (3) - 660
3. Louisville - 564
4. Syracuse - 368
5. NC State - 326
6. Boston College - 301
7. Wake Forest – 136

Coastal Division
1. Miami (26) - 614
2. Duke (33) - 597
3. Virginia Tech (23) - 571
4. North Carolina (27) - 570
5. Georgia Tech (1) - 322
6. Pitt (2) -319
7. Virginia -142

- Chris Johnson

Promoted Stories

More College Football


Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.


Click the share icon to bookmark us.