Friday October 4th, 2013

The answer is probably an easy one. Forget the targeting rule as written, this is intent to injure another player (In this case, the other player at risk of being injured was Iowa State defensive back Deon Broomfield) and should be grounds for ejection. There's no excuse for a play like this from Texas wide receiver Mike Davis in the Longhorns' game against Iowa State.

And most of the Twitterverse seems to agree:

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.