UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
Campus Union

Should this have been a penalty on Texas' Mike Davis?

The answer is probably an easy one. Forget the targeting rule as written, this is intent to injure another player (In this case, the other player at risk of being injured was Iowa State defensive back Deon Broomfield) and should be grounds for ejection. There's no excuse for a play like this from Texas wide receiver Mike Davis in the Longhorns' game against Iowa State.

And most of the Twitterverse seems to agree:

Promoted Stories
Comments
SI.com

Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.

SI.com

Click the share icon to bookmark us.