UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
The Strike Zone

Watch Jean Segura get thrown out stealing second after having already stolen it

Jean Segura stole second and was then caught stealing second in the same game Friday against Chicago. (Mike McGinnis/Getty Images)Jean Segura stole second and was then caught stealing second in the same inning Friday against Chicago. (Mike McGinnis/Getty Images)

In the eighth inning of Friday night's game between the Brewers and Cubs, Milwaukee shortstop Jean Segura led off the inning with a single, stole second, got caught in a run-down attempting to steal third, wound up on second base at the same time as Ryan Braun, retreated safely to first base, then made the final out of the inning by being thrown out attempting to steal second for the second time in the inning. Confused? Watch this:

[mlbvideo id="26416825" width="400" height="224" /]

When Braun and Segura both wound up at second base, Segura, as the leading runner, had the right to the bag, so Braun was out when he was tagged by Cubs third baseman Luis Valbuena even though he was standing on the base. However, Valbuenna, though he tagged Segura twice, never tagged him off the base (if you pause the video on the second tag you can clearly see Segura's left toe on the base), so Segura was able to retreat safely to first base, though he needn't have done so. He was safe on second.

Rule 7.08(i) states that runners should be declared out for " run[ning] the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game." That rule was put into place in 1920 in response to a few isolated incidents of players, most famously Germany Schaefer, attempting to draw a throw at second base for the purpose of allowing a teammate on third base to steal home on a delayed double steal, failing to draw the throw, stealing first on the next pitch, and trying again. However, a comment associated with the rule states that if the runner "is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched," he may return safely to that base (assuming he's not tagged out).

Clearly there's was an interpretation to be made on the part of the umpires, and the umpires in this case ruled, correctly, that Segura returned to first out of confusion, not to "make a travesty of the game," though he came awfully close.

More The Strike Zone

Close

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 4 easy steps:

  1. Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select Bookmarks.
  3. Select Bookmark manager.
  4. Locate your current Sports Illustrated bookmark, click the Organize menu, then select Edit. You can now easily update the web address of your Sports Illustrated bookmark.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 2 easy steps:

  1. Click the Safari bookmark manager on the browser toolbar.
  2. This will open the Bookmarks Bar. In the Bookmarks Bar, select your Sports Illustrated bookmark and manually edit the Address field.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 3 easy steps:

  1. Click the Firefox bookmark manager on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select Show All Bookmarks.
  3. This will open the library window. In the Library window, select your Sports Illustrated bookmark and manually edit the Location field.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.
Don't Show This Again