Thursday October 24th, 2013

GIF: here's the called out that umpires huddled and (correctly) overruled. Error on Kozma.

Who needs replay?

With men on first and second and one out in the bottom of the first inning of Game 1 of the World Series, Boston's David Ortiz hit a ground ball to Cardinals second baseman Matt Carpenter. Carpenter flipped to shortstop Pete Kozma covering second base hoping for an inning-ending double play, but Kozma, perhaps overeager to make the pivot, let Carpenter's throw glance off the pinkie of his glove.

Second base umpire Dana DeMuth ruled that Kozma dropped the ball on the transfer, though he was likely the only person who saw the play live who thought that was the case. Check out the GIF above courtesy of @BuzzFeedSports: Fortunately, at the prompting of Boston manager John Farrell, the umpires conferred to discuss the call and overturned DeMuth, getting the call right and leaving the bases loaded with one out. Mike Napoli then followed with a bases-clearing double to put the Red Sox up 3-0, suggesting that DeMuth's call, had it stood, would have cost the Red Sox a run. Fortunately, that early controversy was averted.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.