UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
The Strike Zone

Watch: Kozma mishandles throw, umps overturn initial missed call early in Game 1

GIF: here's the called out that umpires huddled and (correctly) overruled. Error on Kozma.

Who needs replay?

With men on first and second and one out in the bottom of the first inning of Game 1 of the World Series, Boston's David Ortiz hit a ground ball to Cardinals second baseman Matt Carpenter. Carpenter flipped to shortstop Pete Kozma covering second base hoping for an inning-ending double play, but Kozma, perhaps overeager to make the pivot, let Carpenter's throw glance off the pinkie of his glove.

Second base umpire Dana DeMuth ruled that Kozma dropped the ball on the transfer, though he was likely the only person who saw the play live who thought that was the case. Check out the GIF above courtesy of @BuzzFeedSports:

Fortunately, at the prompting of Boston manager John Farrell, the umpires conferred to discuss the call and overturned DeMuth, getting the call right and leaving the bases loaded with one out. Mike Napoli then followed with a bases-clearing double to put the Red Sox up 3-0, suggesting that DeMuth's call, had it stood, would have cost the Red Sox a run. Fortunately, that early controversy was averted.
Promoted Stories
Comments
SI.com

Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.

SI.com

Click the share icon to bookmark us.