The Strike Zone

Maddux, Glavine, Thomas elected to Hall of Fame; Biggio falls just short

Greg Maddux Greg Maddux won 355 games and four Cy Youngs in 23 seasons in the majors. (Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas have been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Craig Biggio finished with 74.8 percent, missing election by two votes and thus falling painfully shy of the 75 percent threshold needed for induction. Mike Piazza, like Biggio a second-year candidate, was fifth with 62 percent. Jack Morris got 61.5 percent in his 15th and final year on the BBWAA ballot.

Jeff Bagwell, a longtime Astros teammate of Biggio's, had 46.1 percent. Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds, arguably the greatest pitcher and hitter in baseball history but both linked to performance-enhancing drugs, each lost ground and are still a long way from gaining induction. Clemens, a seven-time Cy Young winner, got 35.4 percent while Bonds, a seven-time MVP, received 34.7 percent.

Maddux was a four-time National League Cy Young winner for the Cubs and Braves, winning the award every year from 1992-95. He was thought to have a chance to be the first candidate ever to get 100 percent of the vote until an writer on Tuesday became the first to reveal a ballot that did not have the 18-time Gold Glover on it. Maddux ultimately didn't get 16 votes but still finished with 97.2 percent.

Glavine, who won 305 games and two NL Cy Young awards, got 91.9 percent of the vote.

Thomas won back-to-back American League MVP awards in 1993 and '94 and finished with 521 home runs for the White Sox, Blue Jays and A's. He landed 83.7 percent of the vote.

This is the first time since 1999, when George Brett, Nolan Ryan and Robin Yount were elected, that the writers have voted in three first-timers on the same ballot.

Among other first-timers, Mike Mussina (20.3 percent) and Jeff Kent (15.2 percent) will hang around for next year's ballot.

As for players connected to PEDs, Mark McGwire dropped to 11.0 percent and Sammy Sosa fell to 7.2 percent. They will remain on the ballot. The same can't be said for Rafael Palmeiro, who garnered just 4.4 percent and will no longer be eligible by the BBWAA. Palmeiro was one of just four players with 500 home runs and 3,000 hits but also failed a test for performance-enhancing drugs late in 2005, his final season.

Managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre were voted to the Hall of Fame by the Expansion Era committee at last month's winter meetings. Cox managed Maddux and Glavine for a decade in Atlanta during the heart of the Braves' dynasty that included their 1995 World Series triumph.

There were 571 voters on this year's BBWAA ballot. The ceremonies will take place on July 27 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Here are the voting results for all 35 players on this year's ballot. Players needed 429 votes for election and 29 votes to avoid falling off the ballot altogether:

PlayerVotesPct.Years on ballot
Greg Maddux55597.21
Tom Glavine52591.91
Frank Thomas47883.71
Craig Biggio42774.82
Mike Piazza35562.22
Jack Morris35161.515
Jeff Bagwell31054.34
Tim Raines26346.17
Roger Clemens20235.42
Barry Bonds19834.72
Lee Smith17129.912
Curt Schilling16729.22
Edgar Martinez14425.25
Alan Trammell11920.813
Mike Mussina11620.31
Jeff Kent8715.21
Fred McGriff6711.75
Mark McGwire6311.05
Larry Walker5810.24
Don Mattingly478.214
Sammy Sosa417.22
Rafael Palmeiro254.44
Moises Alou61.11
Hideo Nomo61.11
Luis Gonzalez50.91
Eric Gagne20.41
J.T. Snow20.41
Armando Benitez10.21
Jacque Jones10.21
Kenny Rogers10.21
Sean Casey00.01
Ray Durham00.01
Todd Jones00.01
Paul Lo Duca00.01
Richie Sexson00.01

More The Strike Zone