More Sports

South Korea wins 2014 Little League World Series

South Korea pitcher Jae Yeong Hwang Photo:

South Korea pitcher Jae Yeong Hwang

South Korea has won the 2014 Little League World Series after defeating Chicago's Jackie Robinson West 8-4.

The team from Seoul got off to an early 1-0 lead in the first inning on an RBI double. It added to that lead in the top of the fifth, on a home run from Dong Wan Sin, and then exploded in the sixth inning with an additional four runs, including a solo shot from Hae Chan Choi.

Chicago made things interesting in the bottom of the sixth, scoring three times, but it was too little too late. 

This was South Korea's first Little League World Series championship since 1985 and its third overall.

-- Alex Suskind

Promoted Stories

Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.


Click the share icon to bookmark us.