Westbrook drills ref in head with ball, says it was unintentional

Down
enlarge
Westbrook drills ref in head with ball, says it was unintentional
0:54 | NBA
Westbrook drills ref in head with ball, says it was unintentional
Thursday January 5th, 2017

Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook has been frustrated with referees a fair amount this season, but this was most likely an accident.

Westbrook accidentally drilled referee Tre Maddox in the head with an errant pass during a dead ball in the first quarter of the Thunder's 123–112 loss to the Charlotte Hornets on Wednesday while lead official Sean Corbin was not looking. He is the NBA’s assist leader, and not everyone has eyes in the back of their skull.

"I'm not the type of guy ... I would never, ever disrespect the game like that and throw the ball at the referee," Westbrook said. "I've never done it before. That's just not even heard of in the game before. To get a tech, it's crazy to me. But you take the good with the bad."

Westbrook, who finished with 33 points, 15 rebounds and eight assists in the game, received a technical foul.

- Jeremy Woo and Scooby Axson

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.