Video: Heat receive Larry O'Brien trophy, LeBron James named Finals MVP

Friday June 21st, 2013

MIAMI -- The Heat repeated as NBA champions on Thursday night, capturing the 2013 Finals in seven games over the Spurs.

NBA commissioner David Stern presented the Larry O'Brien trophy to Heat owner Micky Arison and president Pat Riley in a presentation at center court of the American Airlines Arena.

"There can only be one, one winner of tonight's game, one winner of the NBA Finals, and one 2013 NBA champion, the back-to-back, Miami Heat," Stern said. "Let me congratulate Micky Arison and the Arison family, Pat Riley and the entire organization, Erik Spoelstra and the coaching staff, the extraordinary Heat players, who demonstrated the tenacity and dedication that will long be remembered from this really extraordinary championship for the ages."

The Heat organization has now won three titles -- 2006, 2012 and 2013 -- since joining the NBA as an expansion franchise in 1988.

LeBron James, the back-to-back regular-season MVP in 2012 and 2013, was also named Finals MVP for the second straight year. Legendary Celtics center Bill Russell presented James with the Finals MVP trophy. "This is the ultimate," James said. "I'm at a loss for words. ... I'm LeBron James, from Akron, Ohio, from the inner city. I'm not even supposed to be here. That's enough. Every night I walk into the locker room and see a No. 6 jersey with James on the back, I'm blessed."

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.