Friday July 24th, 2015

The New Orleans Saints will being training camp on July 29, when players report to West Virginia. The first practice open to the public is the next day, July 30. Camp breaks on Aug. 28, before New Orleans' third preseason game. 

The Saints are looking to rebound after a 7-9 season in which they missed the playoffs for only the second time since 2009. New Orleans couldn't achieve any kind of consistency last season, never winning more than two games in a row, and losing three games in a row just once. The Saints alternated losses and wins for the last six weeks of the 2014 season.

Saints general manager Micky Loomis continued to make bold offseason moves in 2015. A year after giving safety Jairus Byrd a $54 million contract, Loomis made waves on the other side of the ball, trading Pro Bowl tight end Jimmy Graham to the Seattle Seahawks for center Max Unger and a first round pick. Loomis continued to strip away from his offense, also trading receiver Kenny Stills to Miami for linebacker Dannell Ellerbe and a third-round pick. 

Loomis used the draft picks from his trades on defensive players, selecting linebacker Stephone Anthony with the Seattle first rounder, and cornerback P.J. Williams with the Miami pick. Six of the Saints' nine selections came on defense, a much-needed talent infusion for a team that finished 28th in points allowed and 31st in total defense. 

New Orleans also brought in veterans Brandon Browner and Kyle Wilson for secondary help, and added pass-rusher Anthony Spencer. Loomis didn't pay as much attention to the offense, although the Saints did sign C.J. Spiller, who could serve the role Darren Sproles once did during the Saints' most explosive years. Ultimately, the defense will have to improve significantly for the Saints to return to contender status, while quarterback Drew Brees will be called upon more than ever before to carry the offense. 

Saints training camp schedule (all times ET):

Wednesday, July 29: Players report to camp.

Thursday, July 30: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Friday, July 31: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Saturday, August 1: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Sunday, August 2: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Monday, August 3: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Tuesday, August 4: No practice.

Wednesday, August 5: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Thursday, August 6: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Friday, August 7: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Saturday, August 8: No practice.

Sunday, August 9: 4:00 p.m. and open to the public. Picnic with the Saints at 6 p.m. 

Monday, August 10: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Tuesday, August 11: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public. 

Wednesday, August 12: No practice.

Thursday, August 13: First preseason game at Baltimore, 6:30 p.m. CT. 

Friday, August 14: No practice. 

Saturday, August 15: 4:00 p.m. and open to the public. 

Sunday, August 16: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public.

Monday, August 17: 8:55 a.m. and open to the public.

Tuesday, August 18: No practice.

Wednesday, August 19: TBD and open to the public.

Thursday, August 20: TBD and open to the public. 

Friday, August 21: No practice. 

Saturday, August 22: Second preseason game vs. New England Patriots, 6:30 p.m. CT

Sunday, August 23: 4:00 p.m. and open to the public at Saints Facility in Metairie. 

Monday, August 24: No practice.

Tuesday, August 25: 8:50 a.m. and open to the public at Saints Facility in Metairie. 

Wednesday, August 26: 8:50 a.m. and open to the public at Saints Facility in Metairie. 

Thursday, August 27: 8:50 a.m. and open to the public at Saints Facility in Metairie. 

Friday, August 28: 8:50 a.m. and open to the public at Saints Facility in Metairie. 

Tickets:

Tickets are not required for training camp. Picnic with the Saints tickets can be bought here. For fans wishing to attend workouts in Metairie and The Greenbrier, admission is available on a first-come, first-served basis. In practices held in Metairie, gates will open to the public 45 minutes prior to each practice. Parking is free at both locations, but it first-come, first-serve. 

Location:

Saints training camp will be held at The Greenbrier in White Sulphur Springs, W.V., until Thursday, Aug. 20. Beginning Sunday, Aug. 23, camp will take place at the Saints Facility in Metairie, La. 

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.