Thursday July 30th, 2015

Led by a strong defense, the Chiefs finished 9-7 last season. But while Kansas City emerged as one of the league's strongest defenses in 2014, the offense struggled at times: Chiefs wide receivers failed to catch a single touchdown pass last season. Kansas City came close to making the playoffs and retained much of its personnel entering the new campaign.

Kansas City's biggest offseason move was finally agreeing to a long-term contract with outside linebacker Justin Houston, whose remarkable 22-sack season made him the highest-paid linebacker ever. The Chiefs added receiver Jeremy Maclin—who is familiar with head coach Andy Reid from their Philadelphia days—to replace longtime wideout Dwayne Bowe. They drafted talented cornerback Marcus Peters in the first round and traded for guard Ben Grubbs, who should help strengthen the line despite the loss of center Rodney Hudson.

But the biggest boost for the Chiefs comes with the return of three-time Pro Bowl safety Eric Berry, who was cleared to practice after being diagnosed with Hodgkin lymphoma in December and completing treatment. Defensive tackle Dontari Poe will miss at least the start of training camp after back surgery. 

Chiefs training camp schedule

All times are local. Practices July 29-31 closed to public.

Saturday, Aug. 1: 3:30 p.m. practice, $5 admission fee, team autograph session

Sunday, Aug. 2: 8:15 a.m. practice, Alumni Day, team autograph session

Monday, Aug. 3: 8:15 a.m. practice

Tuesday, Aug. 4: 8:15 a.m. practice

Wednesday, Aug. 5: 9:15 a.m. practice

Thursday, Aug. 6: No practice

Friday, Aug. 7: 8:15 a.m. practice

Saturday, Aug. 8: 8:15 a.m practice, "American Family" Fun Day, $5 Admission Fee, team autograph session

Sunday, Aug. 9: 8:15 a.m. practice

Monday, Aug. 10: 9:15 a.m. practice

Tuesday, Aug. 11: 8:15 a.m. practice

Wednesday, Aug. 12: 8:15 a.m. practice, Season Ticket Member Appreciation Day, team autograph session

Thursday, Aug. 13: No practice

Friday, Aug. 14: No practice

Saturday, Aug. 15: Chiefs at Cardinals, 8 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 16: No practice 

Monday, Aug. 17: 8:15 a.m. practice

Tuesday, Aug. 18: 8:15 a.m. practice

Wednesday, Aug. 19: 9:15 a.m. practice, Military Appreciation Day


Chiefs training camp is held at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, Mo.


Practices are free of charge unless otherwise noted. $5 on-site parking fee.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.