Watch: Potential Amendola TD called back due to inadvertent whistle
Early in the third quarter, Amendola caught a pass from Tom Brady along the sideline and broke downfield. An official blew his whistle while the ball was in the air and Bills cornerback Ronald Darby did not attempt to tackle Amendola after he made the catch.
Bills coach Rex Ryan interfered with the side judge on the play, and was assessed a 15-yard personal foul penalty.
The officials decided to enforce the penalty at the point of the catch.
The Patriots’ series ended with a missed 54-yard field goal by Stephen Gostkowski.
- Dan Gartland