Did Trindon Holliday
fumble before crossing the line? You make the call. (Reuters)
Trindon Holliday gave the Broncos a 14-7 lead in Carolina Sunday with a 76-yard punt return TD -- his second special-teams TD in as many games. Did he get away with a DeSean Jackson-esque mistake at the goal line this time, though?
Jackson, you may recall, made a similar mistake in a game against Dallas during his rookie season. He caught a long pass from Donovan McNabb behind Dallas' defense but flipped the ball out of his hand just prior to crossing the goal line. That play was reviewed and overturned -- Philadelphia was awarded the ball at the 1, but the touchdown was taken off the board.
Holliday appeared to toss the football in celebration just a split-second before crossing the goal line, which would have resulted in a fumble.
You can check out video of the play here on NFL.com, but take a glance at the shots below and see what you think:
Holliday's TD stood, despite the NFL's new rule requiring every scoring play to be reviewed.
Holliday did come very close to stepping out of bounds during his return, which may have garnered the replay booth's attention during the second look. However, it looks like Holliday may have gotten away with one before scoring.