Planet Futbol

Messi, Muller headline World Cup Golden Ball finalists

Photo: VI Images/Getty Images Sport

FIFA announced the finalists for the 2014 World Cup Brazil Golden Ball award on Friday including Argentina's Lionel Messi and Germany's Thomas Muller, who will battle for the title on Sunday.

The complete list of the finalists is:

  • Angel Di Maria (Argentina)
  • Javier Mascherano (Argentina) 
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • Thomas Muller (Germany)
  • Mats Hummels (Germany)
  • Toni Kroos (Germany) 
  • Philipp Lahm (Germany)
  • Neymar (Brazil)
  • Arjen Robben (Netherlands)
  • James Rodriguez (Colombia)

Rodriguez leads the tournament with six goals, while Muller follows with five. Messi and Neymar are tied for third with four goals.

The World Cup final between Argentina and Germany will be played this Sunday.

- Paul Palladino

More Planet Futbol


Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.


Click the share icon to bookmark us.