Planet Futbol

Tim Howard not among finalists for World Cup Golden Glove award

Tim Howard not among finalists for World Cup Golden Glove award Photo:

FIFA announced the finalists on Friday for the Golden Glove award, given each World Cup to the tournament's best goalkeeper. The finalists are Costa Rica's Keylor Navas, Argentina's Sergio Romero and Germany's Manuel Neuer.

Despite a stellar showing in the United States' four games, American keeper Tim Howard was not on the list. The FIFA release mentions Howard's "record-breaking 16 saves against Belgium," but does not name him a finalist for the award. 

SI WIRE: Messi, Muller headline World Cup Golden Ball finalists

In each of the past two World Cups, the winner of the Golden Glove award was the goalkeeper on the winning team. Italy's Gianluigi Buffon won in 2006, and Spain's Iker Casillas took home the trophy in 2010. Neuer and Romero will square off in the World Cup Final on Sunday.

All Eyes On Rio: World Cup focus shifts to the Maracana

The Maracana is set to be the center of the soccer universe on Sunday for the World Cup final between Argentina and Germany, as all eyes shift to Rio de Janeiro.

- Dan Gartland

Promoted Stories

More Planet Futbol


Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.


Click the share icon to bookmark us.