Down
enlarge
Brandi Chastain: How USWNT should approach Women's World Cup as favorites
0:49 | Planet Futbol
Brandi Chastain: How USWNT should approach Women's World Cup as favorites
SI Staff
Tuesday June 2nd, 2015

A World Cup around the corner can only mean one thing: The return of the hashflags.

Twitter has brought back the social media feature, which this time around will embed a maple-leaf-shaped flag for each nation, as one of its elements in preparation for the 2015 Women's World Cup in Canada, which kicks off Saturday.

Planet Futbol
USWNT's Alex Morgan (knee) won't be available full-time early in World Cup

According to Twitter, 22 of the 24 nations participating in Canada have official accounts (Sweden and China are the only ones that do not), and over 270 players have active accounts that can be followed throughout the tournament and beyond. The official hashtag of the tournament is #FIFAWWC, and the official account of the competition is @FIFAWWC (and the full schedule for the tournament can be found here). 

We've compiled every nation's account, every U.S. women's national team player's account (the U.S. women have their own hashflag for their "She Believes" campaign as well) and Twitter's list of every player who will be in Canada as the tournament creeps closer.

Official team Twitter handles, hashflags by group:

GROUP A

CANADA: @CanadaSoccerEN (Hashflag: #CAN)

CHINA: None (#CHN)

NEW ZEALAND: @NZ_Football (#NZL)

NETHERLANDS@oranjevrouwen (#NED)

GROUP B

GERMANY: @DFB_Frauen (#GER)

COTE D'IVOIRE@FIFCI_tweet​ (#CIV)

NORWAY@NFF_info (#NOR)

THAILAND: @FAThailand (#THA)

GROUP C

JAPAN: @jfa_nadeshiko (#JPN)

SWITZERLAND: @SFV_ASF (#SUI)

CAMEROON: @FecafootOfficie (#CMR)

ECUADOR: @trifemenina (#ECU)

GROUP D

USA: @ussoccer_wnt (#USA)

SWEDEN: None (#SWE)

AUSTRALIA: @TheMatildas (#AUS)

NIGERIA: @TheNFF (#NGA)

​GROUP E

BRAZIL: @CBF_Futebol (#BRA)

KOREA REPUBLIC: @theKFA (#KOR)

SPAIN: @SeFutbol (#ESP)

COSTA RICA: @FEDEFUTBOL_CR (#CRC)

​GROUP F

FRANCE: @EquipeDeFrance (#FRA)

ENGLAND: @England (#ENG)

COLOMBIA: @FCFSeleccionCol (#COL)

MEXICO: @Futbol_Mex_Feme (#MEX)

USWNT accounts for each player

 
POSITION PLAYER TWItter handle
Goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris @Ashlyn_Harris
Goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher @alyssanaeher
Goalkeeper Hope Solo @hopesolo
Defender Lori Chalupny @lorichalupny
Defender Whitney Engen @WhitneyEngen
Defender Julie Johnston @_JulieJohnston_
Defender Meghan Klingenberg @MeghanKling
Defender Ali Krieger @AliKrieger
Defender Kelley O'Hara @kohara19
Defender Christie Rampone @christierampone
Defender Becky Sauerbrunn @beckysauerbrunn
Midfielder Shannon Boxx @ShannonBoxx7
Midfielder Morgan Brian @moeebrian
Midfielder Tobin Heath @TobinHeath
Midfielder Lauren Holiday @LaurenHoliday12
Midfielder Carli Lloyd @CarliLloyd
Midfielder Heather O'Reilly @heatheroreilly
Midfielder Megan Rapinoe @mPinoe
Forward Sydney Leroux Dwyer @sydneyleroux
Forward Alex Morgan @AlexMorgan13
Forward Christen Press @christenpress
Forward Amy Rodriguez @AmyRodriguez8
Forward Abby Wambach @AbbyWambach

The Full Field

Twitter has compiled a list with a link to every player's handle. The full list of tweets from those players is below:

If you're going to be at the event, each host city has accounts that could be useful as well:

Edmonton: (@CityofEdmonton; @WhereEdmonton; @avenueedmonton)

Montreal: (@MTLBlog; @voir; @MTL_Ville)

Moncton: (@SeeNewBrunswick; @CityofMoncton; @EventsMoncton)

Ottawa: (@Ottawa_Tourism; @OttawaJantine; @apt613)

Vancouver: (@MyVancouver; @georgiastraight; @miss604)

Winnipeg: (@cityofwinnipeg; @TheForks; @wag_ca)

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.