Wednesday April 13th, 2016

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

Antoine Griezmann scored a brace to vault Atletico Madrid over Barcelona in their Champions League quarterfinal tie.

Griezmann gave the home side a 1–0 lead in Wednesday’s second leg with a headed goal in the 36th minute. 

Atleti midfielder Saùl played the ball into the box, where Griezmann steered it into the net with his head. The goal evened the score 2–2 on aggregate, but gave Atletico the advantage due to the team's away goal at Camp Nou. 

Late in the second half, Griezmann converted a penalty to put Atletico up 2–0. The penalty followed an Andres Iniesta handball in the box, one that Atletico Madrid thought merited a red card for denying an obvious goal-scoring opportunity. 

Griezmann's penalty kick gave Atletico a 3–2 lead on aggregate. 

There was drama that ensued, as Atletico Madrid captain Gabi handled an Iniesta pass, and it appeared to take place in the Atletico Madrid box. It was ruled to have taken place just outside, though, and Lionel Messi put his free kick over the crossbar. 

Atletico Madrid advanced, joining Real Madrid, Manchester City and Bayern Munich in the Champions League semifinals.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.