Brandon McCarthy Says He Regrets Swearing At Umpire Laz Diaz
Oakland Athletics pitcher Brandon McCarthy wrote in his personal blog today that despite being right about a blown call in yesterday’s game against the Texas Rangers, he regretted how he handled the situation with umpire Laz Diaz.
“Usually I enjoy swearing, but only on much friendlier terms. I was swearing at Laz like he had personally tried to screw me and now the more I look back at it, I was being an (expletive). I could’ve sworn at him until my cerebellum melted, but what would that have solved? Nothing.
In the future, I think I’m going to start going for the much calmer discussion/debates. Raging can be fun, but nothing gets accomplished. I’m very aware that Laz did what he felt was correct. I don’t know how he didn’t see me catch that ball, but he says he did and under his job title, I’m obligated to abide by that. He’s just doing his job as best as he knows how, and I stood there and screamed and belittled him for it. That’s not how I want to carry myself going forward.”
McCarthy made a diving catch on a pop-up in the infield in the sixth inning of last night’s game against the Rangers. He immediately popped up and threw the ball to third base to complete an inning ending double play. Diaz ruled that McCarthy had not in fact caught the ball, that the had trapped it. Replays later showed that Diaz was wrong. Athletics manager Bob Melvin was ejected from the game after also arguing the call.