UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
SI Wire

Tiger Woods: I wouldn't call in rules violation

Tiger Woods said he wouldn't call in a rules violation from home. (Jamie Squire/Getty Images) Tiger Woods said he wouldn't call in a rules violation from home. (Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

For Tiger Woods, getting busted with a two-shot penalty at the Masters after an illegal drop was just part of the rules and it led to chatter about whether spectators should call in rules violations.

Woods said he doesn't see himself calling in and letting officials know about a violation.

The two-shot penalty came in the second round at the 15th hole and eventually led to him being out of contention during the weekend. He began the third round five shots behind and finished four strokes behind winner Adam Scott. This week, Woods is at the Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass, which starts Thursday.

"I don't ever see myself calling in and saying that Kobe (Bryant) traveled or things like that. ... or some offensive lineman held,'' Woods said Tuesday at TPC Sawgrass, via ESPN.com. "But it's our sport, and that's what we've accepted. Certain groups are going to get more heat than others just because they're on TV. It is what it is.'' "I had a lot of momentum going at that time,'' he said. "I think I was tied for the lead with Fred (Couples) and I thought I'd stuffed it in there and I thought it was going to be a birdie and I could take the lead there and maybe sneak one in on the final three holes and basically start building a lead in the tournament. And it kind of turned the other way with a good shot.''

More SI Wire

SI.com

Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.

SI.com

Click the share icon to bookmark us.