Scooby Axson
Friday August 9th, 2013

Woody Austin was given a 4-shot penalty for having too many clubs in his bag. (Hunter Martin/Getty Images) Woody Austin was given a 4-shot penalty for having too many clubs in his bag. (Hunter Martin/Getty Images)

Woody Austin was assessed a 4-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship on Friday after having 15 clubs in his bag while on the third hole.

Austin violated Rule 4-4 for exceeding the 14-club limit. The penalty calls for two strokes for each hole where the penalty occurred, up to a four-stroke limit.

Austin added two strokes to his score for the first and second holes, which turned his par and bogey into a double bogey and triple bogey.

Austin, who has won four times on the PGA Tour, shot a 69 in the first round and was 4-over for his round at the turn.

LIVE BLOG: Follow the PGA Championship https://twitter.com/ThePGAofAmerica/statuses/365854608238718976

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.