Scooby Axson
Friday October 4th, 2013

The Big 12 said there was enough evidence to overturn Johnathan Gray's fumble.  (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall) Running back Jonathan Gray lost the ball on the goal line, but no fumble was called in Texas' 31-30 victory over Iowa State on Thursday. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

The Big 12 Conference said on Friday that there was insufficient evidence to overturn a disputed non-fumble call in Texas' 31-30 victory over Iowa State on Thursday night.

Texas running back Johnathan Gray was attempting to score from the 3 when he fumbled, but was ruled down by contact. Iowa State linebacker Jeremiah George stripped Gray of the ball and ran down the field with it.

"I've got pretty good eyesight. The view I had of that gigantic screen in the north end zone showed a player that was not down and our guy with the football," said Iowa State coach Paul Rhoads.

RICKMAN: Paul Rhoads goes nuclear after Texas escapes Iowa State with controversial late call

Big 12 Supervisor of football officials Walt Anderson released a statement about the play.

"The ruling made on the goal line play was that the runner was down by rule with the ball," said Anderson in the statement. "Because of that ruling, instant replay is allowed to review the play, which it did. Had the ruling on the field been forward progress, the play would not be reviewable because the goal line was not involved. The Replay Official looked at all five views available for this play: Line Feed, Goal Line cart, Press Box angle, Sky Cam, and Opposite End Zone camera. He correctly determined there was no indisputable video evidence to confirm that either the ruling on the field was correct, or that the ball was loose prior to the runner being down. By rule when there is not indisputable video evidence to confirm or change the call on the field, the ruling stands.

"On this play, the covering official ruled the runner was down and still had control of the ball. There is no question the runner ends up on the ground, and there is no question that eventually an Iowa State player ends up with the ball. However, after reviewing the video evidence it is impossible to tell with certainty when the runner loses control of the ball and at that point was he down or not. "The conference would acknowledge in this unique situation if a mistake were made, but we do not have the video evidence to prove that one occurred."

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.