Bengals RB BenJarvus Green-Ellis scores one of his six rushing touchdowns this season. (AP Photo/David Kohl)
The NFL said that an officiating crew made the wrong call by awarding a touchdown to Cincinnati Bengals running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis during the Bengals' 42-28 win over the Indianapolis Colts on Sunday.
On a fourth-and-goal play from the one-yard line in the second quarter of the game, Green-Ellis made contact with Colts defensive tackle Josh Chapman, causing him to go down. The original call had Green-Ellis short of the goal line, giving the ball to the Colts.
The play was overturned by referee Jeff Triplette giving the Bengals a 14-0 lead.
"No, it wasn't the correct call," NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino said on NFL Network. "There was not enough evidence to overturn the ruling on the field."
FARRAR: Jeff Triplette makes another weird call, and the Colts are the victims this time
Blandino said there wasn't "indisputable visual evidence" to say the original call on the field was incorrect.
"That's the standard. When we look at these angles, it's close," Blandino said. "Don't think it's definitive either way. And when it's not definitive either way, that means the call on the field should stand. So we made a mistake here. This should not have been overturned."