MLB admits incorrect replay call in Red Sox-Yankees game
Major League Baseball has conceded that a call was missed in a game between the Boston Red Sox and the New York Yankees on Saturday, despite the use of replay, according to ESPNNewYork.com's Kieran Darcy.
The missed call came when Yankees' shortstop Dean Anna slid into second for a double in the bottom of the eighth inning, but then took his foot off the bag while Xander Bogaerts was still applying the tag. The call on the field was that Anna was safe and when Red Sox manager John Farrell challenged, the MLB replay official upheld the ruling, despite several angles seemingly showing it was incorrect.
After the game, MLB official Michael Teevan admitted that the replay ruling was incorrect, because "[t]he conclusive angle was not immediately available."