MLB rules David Ortiz broke up Yu Darvish's perfect game in seventh inning
An Ortiz popup to right field was dropped and originally recorded as an error by right fielder Alex Rios. But the league overturned the call, granting Ortiz a hit.
"Ortiz came to bat with two outs in the bottom of the seventh inning. At that point, Darvish had retired 20 straight hitters. Ortiz hit a high pop into right field. Second baseman Rougned Odor, who was playing in shallow right field in a defensive shift, got under the ball as Rios started coming toward him.
Odor said later he thought he heard Rios call him off. Rios said he should have taken control. Instead, Rios backed off and Odor couldn't catch the ball as it dropped just beyond his glove. Odor did not touch the ball."
Darvish's no-hit bid ended in the ninth inning, when Ortiz broke it up with a two-out single.