Ibrahimovic wins second straight Ligue 1 Player Of The Year award

Photo: Pascal Pochard /Getty Images

Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored 40 goals in all competitions for PSG this year as it captured its second straight Ligue 1 title.

PARIS (AP) - Paris Saint-Germain striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been voted the French league's player of the year by his fellow professionals for the second straight season.

Ibrahimovic beat off competition from teammates Thiago Silva and Thiago Motta and Monaco midfielder James Rodriguez to win the top award in French football on Sunday.

The Sweden striker has scored 40 goals in all competitions for PSG this season. The Parisian club clinched the French league title on Wednesday.

Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Soccer


Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.


Click the share icon to bookmark us.