UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
Beyond the Baseline

Caroline Wozniacki blasts umpire in loss

Caroline Wozniacki Replays showed Caroline Wozniacki was correct in challenging a call, but she was displeased with the umpire calling the ball in. (Zumapress)

During her third round match against Kaia Kanepi on Saturday, No. 9 seed Caroline Wozniacki stopped during a rally at 1-1 in the second set and circled the ball mark believing it was out. The umpire, Poncho Ayala, came down to inspect the mark and disagreed, saying the ball had just clipped the line.

Wozniacki. Went. Off.

"The ball is clearly out," she ranted at Ayala. "You cannot just sit there and be so arrogant. How can you see this ball as in when the ball is like this out? It's not touching the line. If we had Hawk-Eye you'd be so frickin' embarrassed right now. So embarrassed. Especially because you can see the mark. Have you been to school? Can I ask you? Have you gone to school?"

Aw, burn! I don't know if the chair umpire went to school -- or if he enrolled in "How to Look at Objects 101" -- but I suspect Wozniacki might have gone to Andy Roddick's School of Umpire Abuse, where you learn to master the "When in doubt, call the umpire stupid" move. The Dane eventually called for the supervisor (possibly after being told to by her box) who attempted to placate her, but the call stood. Television replays using Hawk-Eye showed the ball was six millimeters out. Then again, the reason Hawk-Eye isn't used on clay is because it's unreliable. Wozniacki went on to lose the match 6-1, 6-7, 6-3 and just like the last time she felt she was robbed by an umpire call in Miami earlier this year, she continued to voice her discontent after the match.

"When the ball is clearly out, I don’t think there should be anything to argue about," she told reporters after the match. "If they cannot see, they should have other umpires on the lines or invent Hawk‑Eye on these courts. It’s a disgrace that mistakes like this are made. It wasn’t even like, could have been in, could have been out. It was clearly out. Also, when a ball travels five miles an hour in the third set at 1‑All, I think either the linesman or the main umpire should be able to see the ball, as well."

More Beyond the Baseline

Close

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 4 easy steps:

  1. Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select Bookmarks.
  3. Select Bookmark manager.
  4. Locate your current Sports Illustrated bookmark, click the Organize menu, then select Edit. You can now easily update the web address of your Sports Illustrated bookmark.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 2 easy steps:

  1. Click the Safari bookmark manager on the browser toolbar.
  2. This will open the Bookmarks Bar. In the Bookmarks Bar, select your Sports Illustrated bookmark and manually edit the Address field.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.

To continue enjoying content from the most trusted name is sports, please be sure to update your current bookmark.

Just follow these 3 easy steps:

  1. Click the Firefox bookmark manager on the browser toolbar.
  2. Select Show All Bookmarks.
  3. This will open the library window. In the Library window, select your Sports Illustrated bookmark and manually edit the Location field.

    Our updated web address is http://www.si.com.
Don't Show This Again