Meyers Taylor, Holcomb drive to bobsled wins

PARK CITY, Utah (AP) Elana Meyers Taylor won Friday's second U.S. women's bobsled team selection race, tuning up for her four-man debut.

Meyers Taylor and Lauren Gibbs won with a two-run time of 1 minute, 39.79 seconds. That edged Jamie Greubel Poser and Cherelle Garrett (1:40.20) and Jazmine Fenlator and Natalie Deratt (1:40.77).

Meyers Taylor drives Saturday in the four-man races, her three pushers to include her husband, Nic Taylor. It's the first time U.S. women have raced against men, something that's now possible because the sport's governing body is now viewing four-man bobsled as gender neutral.

In Friday's two-man selection race, three-time Olympic medalist Steven Holcomb paired with Alex Harrison to win in 1:37.95. Nick Cunningham and Sam Michener (1:38.25) were second, and Codie Bascue and David Cremin took third (1:38.34).

The third race of the skeleton team selection series was held later Friday in Park City. Olympic bronze medalist Matt Antoine took the men's event and Kendall Wesenberg prevailed in the women's competition, the USBSF said.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.