Edmonton wins National Lacrosse League championship

EDMONTON, Alberta (AP) Mark Matthews led Edmonton to its first National Lacrosse League title Friday night, scoring five goals and adding three assists in the Rush's 11-10 victory over the Toronto Rock.

Edmonton swept the best-of-three final.

Robert Church had two goals and Jeff Cornwall, Zack Greer, Ben McIntosh and Matthew Dinsdale also scored to help the Rush finish off the league's first all-Canadian final.

Rob Hellyer, Kasey Beirnes and Colin Doyle each had two goals for the six-time champion Rock. Josh Sanderson, Kevin Crowley, Stephan Leblanc and Jeff Gilbert also scored.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.