Gibbs, Meyers Taylor, Holcomb win US bobsled push titles

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. (AP) Lauren Gibbs won the women's USA National Bobsled Push Championship on Friday, while longtime drivers and Olympic medalists Elana Meyers Taylor and Steven Holcomb won the pilot push titles.

Gibbs started her second season by winning with a two-push combined time of 9.53 seconds. Rookie Kehri Jones finished in 9.54 seconds, and Lolo Jones - one of 10 Americans to compete in both the Summer and Winter Olympics - was third.

Lolo Jones doesn't plan on bobsledding this season, focusing instead on her plans to make the U.S. team headed to the Rio Olympics next summer.

Meyers Taylor topped Katie Eberling and Jamie Greubel Poser for the women's pilot title. Holcomb beat Geoff Gadbois and Hunter Church in the men's pilot event.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.