4-team National Women's Hockey League set to open 1st season

BUFFALO, N.Y. (AP) The puck is set to drop for the four-team National Women's Hockey League.

The league will open its first season Sunday, with the New York Riveters traveling to Stamford to face the Connecticut Whale, and the Buffalo Beauts hosting the Boston Pride.

Each team will play an 18-game schedule that runs through the end of February.

The NWHL is the first women's pro hockey league to offer paid contracts.

The league features several players with international experience. Buffalo's roster includes 2014 U.S. Olympic team captain Meghan Duggan.

The NWHL follows the lead of the Canadian Women's Hockey League, which was founded in 2007. The CWHL features four Canadian-based teams and the Boston Blades.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.