December 12, 2015

MUNICH (AP) Finland, Israel, Romania and Turkey will host the European basketball championship in 2017

World governing body FIBA says Turkey will host group games as well as the final knockout rounds in two venues in Istanbul.

Finland, which last hosted Eurobasket in 1967, will host one group in Helsinki, while Israel and Romania will host group games in Tel Aviv and Cluj, respectively.

This year's European basketball championship was the first to be hosted by multiple countries and FIBA says it opted to follow the same path for the 2017 edition due to its ''unprecedented success.''

Spain defeated Lithuania 80-63 to regain the title in Lille, France in September.

You May Like