April 29, 2016

MISSION VIEJO, Calif. (AP) Abbey Weitzeil won the 100-meter freestyle at the Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions on Friday night.

Weitzeil, a member of the U.S. national team, finished in 54.13 seconds. Jessica Hardy, seeking to make her second straight Olympic team, finished fourth in 56.40 at the tune-up meet for the U.S. trials to be held in June.

Noelle Tarazona won the 200 butterfly in 2:12.78. Haley Anderson, already qualified for open-water swimming at the Rio Games, was second in 2:13.64. National team member Katie McLaughlin took third in 2:13.88 at the meet in Mission Viejo.

National teamer Amy Bilquist won the 200 backstroke; Brendan Meyer won the 200 fly; Patrick Mulcare won the 200 back; and Dylan Carter of Trinidad & Tobago won the 100 free in 49.74, the only swimmer to dip under 50 seconds.

Stephanie Peaco won the 400 free in 4:10.65 to go with the 800 free title she won Thursday. Anderson finished second in the 400.

Ous Mellouli of Tunisia won the 400 free in 3:52.52, adding it to the 1,500 free title he won a night earlier.

You May Like