Rahm, Harris win Marathon Super Boat Grand Prix

MARATHON, Fla. (AP) Rusty Rahm and Jeff Harris piloted Wake Effects to a Superboat Unlimited-class title Sunday in the Marathon Super Boat Grand Prix off the Florida Keys.

Driver Rahm of Olathe, Kansas, and throttleman Jeff Harris of Greenville, North Carolina, averaged 110.39 mph over the 20-lap, 4-mile course, besting world champions Bob Bull and Randy Scism in CMS by a second. Bull lives in Melbourne, Florida, and Scism is from Wentzville, Missouri.

Performance Boat Center, driven by Myrick Coil of Osage Beach, Missouri, and throttled by John Tomlinson of Miami, earned a Superboat class victory.

The Superboat Vee class title went to Sun Print, throttled by Steve Miklos with driver Steve Fehrmann, both of New Port Richey, Florida.

The event attracted teams competing in 23 high-performance powerboats.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.