Publish date:

One more trophy for 2011

Clear some more mantel space, programs harboring tiny speedsters: Former Nebraska standout Johnny Rodgers has established a new postseason award for college football's best return man, and the trophy will bear the name of its first winner before a full season of existence. A 2011 honoree will be announced Thursday, chosen from the field of Arkansas' Joe Adams, Texas A&M's Dustin Harris, LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and North Carolina's T.J. Thorpe. And while the sentimental favorite will surely be the Honey Badger, we have to throw some love to the Switzy-winning Adams one more time, for repeated crimes against the laws of motion:

SI Recommends