Jin Lee/Associated Press
By SI Wire
July 18, 2014

Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione will serve as the men's basketball committee chairman for the 2015-16 season, the NCAA announced Friday.

The NCAA said Castiglione will also be the vice-chairman of the committee this year under Utah State athletic director Scott Barnes, who starts his term as chair on Sept. 1.

The committee is tasked with selecting the 68 teams that participate in the NCAA basketball tournament every March. The men's Final Four tournament will take place at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis next season and at NRG Stadium in Houston in 2016.

MORE COLLEGE BASKETBALL: Successor Series: Roy Williams | Bo Ryan

“I have been incredibly fortunate to have served on this committee with three outstanding chairs in Jeff Hathaway [the current director of athletics at Hofstra], Mike Bobinski [the current director of athletics director at Georgia Tech] and current chair Ron Wellman of Wake Forest,” Castiglione said.

“Watching them lead the committee throughout the year and particularly through the selection process has been educational, and having the opportunity to work along with Scott in the coming year will serve as great preparation to fill this role."

Castiglione is in his 17th year as Oklahoma's athletic director after spending five years as the AD at Missouri.

Scooby Axson


You May Like