Kansas coaching legends to celebrate Allen Fieldhouse's 60th anniversary

Wednesday August 13th, 2014

Kansas is holding a 60th anniversary celebration for Allen Fieldhouse in which all living former head coaches will reunite for the first time, the program announced Tuesday.

Ted Owens, Larry Brown, Roy Williams and Bill Self will all attend the Oct. 27 "Celebrating 60 Years" event, which will be open to fans. Proceeds will be donated to charities designated by the four coaches.

More: Mike Anderson leads Arkansas into critical season

Owens coached the Jayhawks from 1964-83, putting up a record of 348-128. Brown, currently the coach at SMU, succeeded Owens until 1988, leading the team to a national championship in his final season. Willliams took over for the next 15 years before leaving for alma mater North Carolina, going 418-101.

Self took over in 2003 and has led Kansas to 10 straight Big 12 regular season titles, the 2008 national championship and a 175-9 record at Allen Fieldhouse. The four coaches have combined for a 713-109 record at the arena.

Kansas went 25-10 last season, falling in the third round of the NCAA Tournament.

Ben Estes


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.