Mike McGinnis/Getty Images
By SI Wire
November 17, 2014

The voting committee for the John R. Wooden Award, given each year to the most outstanding college basketball player, released its 50-player watch list today.

The committee of experts selected four players from both Kentucky and Kansas, three from Arizona, and two each from Wisconsin, Duke and Louisville.

The players on the list include Frank Kaminsky and Sam Dekker from Wisconsin. Kaminsky was voted to The Associated Press' preseason All-America team. He was also voted the most coveted player in Division I by a group of coaches polled by CBSSports.com.

There are also multiple freshman on the list, including Duke's ​Jahlil Okafor, Kansas' Cliff Alexander, Kentucky's Karl-Anthony Towns, and Arizona's ​Stanley Johnson.

SI.com's 2014-15 College Basketball Season Preview

The players selected for the final ballot will be announced prior to the start of the NCAA Tournament, at which time voting will open and stay open to the conclusion of the tournament's third round.

The criteria for selection include full-time status as a student-athlete, a cumulative 2.0 GPA, excellence on both offense and defense, strength of character on and off the court and consideration of performance over the course of the entire season.

Past winners include Doug McDermott (2014),Trey Burke (2013), Anthony Davis (2012), Blake Griffin (2009) and Tim Duncan (1997).

SI cover: College Basketball preview, Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky

- Christopher Woody

You May Like