Murray State's Payne, Prohm named OVC player, coach of year

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) Ashia Jones of UT Martin has been voted the Ohio Valley Conference player of the year, and her coach Kevin McMillan has been named the league's coach of the year.

The OVC announced their award winners and all-league team Tuesday night.

Jones and McMillan have teamed together to help the Skyhawks become one of seven teams this season and just the sixth in OVC history to go undefeated in conference play. The sophomore forward from Covington, Tennessee, scored 30 points or more seven times this season in helping UT Martin go 16-0 and 20-9 overall.

Junior guard Tiasha Gray of Austin Peay is the defensive player of the year after leading the nation in steals.

Murray State's Ke'Shunan James is the freshman of the year.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.