Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky wins Center of Year award

LOS ANGELES (AP) Frank Kaminsky of national runner-up Wisconsin has won the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year award.

The senior nicknamed ''Frank the Tank'' was presented with the award Friday night at the first College Basketball Awards show at Club Nokia in downtown Los Angeles.

Kaminsky led the Badgers to the Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles and a berth in the national championship game for the first time since 1941. They lost to Duke this week.

He won out over Bobby Portis of Arkansas, Jahlil Okafor of national champion Duke, Willie Cauley-Stein of Kentucky and Rakeem Christmas of Syracuse.

The winner was decided by a combination of fan votes and input from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame selection committee.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.