Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell wins Shooting Guard of Year

LOS ANGELES (AP) D'Angelo Russell of Ohio State has won the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year award.

The freshman received the award Friday night at the first College Basketball Awards presented at Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

Russell led the Buckeyes into the NCAA Tournament, where they lost to Arizona in the third round.

West was on hand to give Russell his namesake award.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.