Stanley Johnson of Arizona wins Small Forward of Year award

LOS ANGELES (AP) Stanley Johnson of Arizona has won the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year award.

The freshman was presented the trophy Friday night at the first College Basketball Awards from Club Nokia in downtown Los Angeles.

Johnson led the Wildcats with 13.8 points. He helped them reach the West Regional final of the NCAA Tournament, where they lost to Wisconsin to fall a game short of the Final Four for the second straight year.

Hall of Famer Julius Erving helped present his namesake award.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.