Big East releases conference schedule

NEW YORK (AP) A five-game marathon featuring all of the Big East's teams again highlights the conference's schedule for 2015-16.

Conference play for the 3-year-old, basketball-centric league begins Dec. 30 with Seton Hall at Marquette and Georgetown at DePaul. The league will again play an 18-game, double round-robin schedule. That all leads to the conference tournament at Madison Square Garden on March 9-12. It will be the 34th Big East tournament at the Garden.

The Jan. 2 schedule starts with DePaul at Seton Hall at 11 a.m. EST, followed by Butler at Xavier, St. John's at Providence, Marquette at Georgetown and Villanova at Creighton at 10 p.m.

Villanova was the regular-season and tournament champion last season. The Big East had six teams in the NCAA Tournament: Villanova, Providence, Georgetown, St. John's, Butler and Xavier.

Two schools have new coaches this season: Dave Leitao at DePaul and Chris Mullin at St. John's.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.