President Obama picked a No. 1 seed to win the tournament for the seventh time

Wednesday March 16th, 2016

Barack Obama has filled out his March Madness bracket with ESPN's Andy Katz for the eighth and final time, and for the seventh time he's picked a No. 1 seed to win it all.

Obama went out on a limb and picked top overall seed Kansas as his champion, the third time he's picked the Jayhawks to cut down the nets.

A vote of confidence from Obama has been a coups de grâce for Kansas in the past. He also picked the Jayhawks to win in 2010 (when they lost in the second round to Northern Iowa) and in 2011 (when they got bounced by VCU in the Elite Eight).

The only time Obama didn't pick a No. 1 seed win was in 2014, when he picked fourth-seeded Michigan State, which is pretty much the same as picking a No. 1 seed.

Obama hasn't picked the winner correctly since his first year in office, when North Carolina took the title. So maybe you should look elsewhere for advice.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.