Report: NCAA called Mark Few about botched call vs. Syracuse

Friday April 1st, 2016

The NCAA called Gonzaga head coach Mark Few to inform him that the officials in its Sweet 16 game against Syracuse botched a call on a 10-second violation in the final minutes of the game, according to the Associated Press.

The officials made the call with 1:17 remaining and the Bulldogs up 60–59. The 10-second violation came on Josh Perkins’s missed pass to Kyle Dranginis that was deflected by Syracuse’s Trevor Cooney into the back court. Dranginis​ regained possession but the referees called the violation despite the fact that the clock should have reset when contact was made on the front court.

JOHNSON: Breaking down the Final Four’s key matchups

“If you score there, you’re up by (three or) four, and if they subsequently go down and miss, they’d have fouled,” Few said.

Watch the play in question below:

Syracuse went on a 15–3 run to win the game. The Orange are now in the Final Four and set to play North Carolina on Saturday.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.