Villanova, Arizona headline 2017 Battle 4 Atlantis field

PARADISE ISLAND, Bahamas (AP) Reigning NCAA champion Villanova and Arizona will headline next year's Battle 4 Atlantis.

The tournament announced its eight-team field for 2017 on Friday, the final day of this year's event. It also includes power-conference teams North Carolina State, Purdue and Tennessee.

Northern Iowa, SMU and Western Kentucky round out the field.

The tournament, played in a temporary arena in a ballroom at the Atlantis resort, will be played during the Thanksgiving holiday from Nov. 22-24, 2017.

This year's field featured three ranked teams in No. 10 Louisville, No. 20 Baylor and No. 24 Michigan State. Baylor rallied from 22 down to beat Louisville in Friday's championship game.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.