Florida State's Jimbo Fisher wants all conferences to have title games

Monday July 28th, 2014

Florida State coach Jimbo Fisher said on ESPN on Monday that he thinks all conferences should have championship games.

Fisher said it's not fair that some teams have to play one more game than others do.

The Big 12 is currently the only Power Five conference not to have a conference championship game. As an independent, Notre Dame does not have to play in a conference championship game to qualify for the College Football Playoff.

The Big 12 stopped holding one after the 2010 season when Colorado and Nebraska left for other conferences, as NCAA rules mandate a conference have at least 12 teams in order to hold a title game. The departure of those two schools and other realignment-fueled changes have left the Big 12 with 10 teams.

The Pac-12 and Big 10 began holding conference championship games in 2011.

Florida State won the national title last season. 

More: Ten most anticipated nonconference games of 2014

Ben Estes

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.