Sugar Bowl takes over sponsorship for Eddie Robinson COY award

Thursday August 21st, 2014

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will now sponsor the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday. 

The award, which has been around since 1957, is presented annually to the top college football coach in the FBS. In 1997, it was named after former Grambling State head coach Eddie Robinson.

"It is so fitting that the Sugar Bowl helps us honor the winningest coach in Division I (408 games) because he was born in Jackson, Louisiana and coached for 56 years at Grambling State, located in the same state as the Sugar Bowl," said 2014 FWAA President Kirk Bohls.

More: Buckeyes start life without Braxton Miller

This year's winner will be announced Dec. 15. The Sugar Bowl will host the award's reception in Dallas, to be held on Jan. 10, 2015. 

Gus Malzahn of Auburn won the award last season. 

- Molly Geary


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.