Bill McCay/WireImage

The Maxwell Club announced on Monday the semifinalists for two of the top college football individual awards in the country, the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards. 

By SI Wire
November 03, 2014

The Maxwell Club announced on Monday the semifinalists for two of the top college football individual awards, the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards. 

The Maxwell Award recognizes the top overall college football player in the country. The semifinalists include 12 quarterbacks, led by Oregon's Marcus Mariota, who has thrown for 2,541 yards with 26 touchdowns and two interceptions. Mariota was also a semifinalist last year, along with Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon, Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston. Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron received the award in 2013 and is now on the Cincinnati Bengals. 

​The Bednarik Award recognizes the best overall defensive player in the country. Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley, Oregon cornerback Ifo Ekpre-Olomu and USC defensive end Leonard Williams are repeat semifinalists. Last year's award went to Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, who currently plays for the St. Louis Rams. 

STAPLES: Playoff hopes for each conference

Three finalists for each award will be announced Nov. 24, and the winners will be broadcast Dec. 11 during the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Ameer Abdullah, Sr. Nebraska RB
Javorius Allen, Sr. USC RB
Trevone Boykin, Jr. TCU QB
Rakeem Cato, Sr. Marshall QB
Tevin Coleman, Jr. Indiana RB
James Conner, Soph. Pitt RB
Connor Cook, Jr. Michigan State QB
Amari Cooper, Jr. Alabama WR
Everett Golson, Sr. Notre Dame QB
Melvin Gordon, Jr. Wisconsin RB
Brett Hundley, Jr. UCLA QB
Duke Johnson, Jr. Miami (Fla.) RB
Marcus Mariota, Jr. Oregon QB
Nick Marshall, Sr. Auburn QB
Bryce Petty, Sr. Baylor QB
Dak Prescott, Jr. Mississippi State QB
Bo Wallace, Sr. Ole Miss QB
Jake Waters, Sr. Kansas State QB
Kevin White, Sr. West Virginia WR
Jameis Winston, Soph. Florida State QB​

Bednarik Award Semifinalists 

Vic Beasley, Sr. Clemson DE
Joey Bosa, Soph. Ohio State DE
Shilique Calhoun, Jr. Michigan State DE
Landon Collins, Jr. Alabama S
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Sr. Oregon CB
Senquez Golson, Sr. Ole Miss CB
Randy Gregory, Jr. Nebraska DE
Vernon Hargreaves III, Soph. Florida CB
Jordan Hicks, Sr. Texas LB
Gerod Holliman, Soph. Louisville S
Hau’oli Kikaha, Sr. Washington LB
Benardrick McKinney, Jr. Mississippi State LB
Shawn Oakman, Jr. Baylor DE
Nate Orchard, Sr. Utah DE
Denzel Perryman, Sr. Miami (Fla.) LB
Shane Ray, Jr. Mizzou DE
Danny Sheldon, Sr. Washington DT
Jaylon Smith, Soph. Notre Dame LB
Leonard Williams, Jr. USC DE
Scooby Wright III, Soph. Arizona LB

Jack Jorgensen

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)